Posted on

Hiring a Houston Criminal Lawyer for Assault Charges

An assault charge is not something to be taken lightly. In Texas, aggravated assault is considered a felony and comes with severe punishment such as high fines and prison time. When charged with assault, it’s crucial to seek out a qualified and experienced attorney to defend your case and help you come up with a strategy that will ensure that you receive the best possible outcome. 

In this article, we’ll break down Texas assault laws, and what you should look for in an attorney to help you navigate your charges moving forward. 

Assault Laws in Houston, Texas

In Texas, aggravated assault is when someone knowingly, intentionally, and recklessly causes serious bodily injury to another person. This includes excessive force or use of a deadly weapon during the assault. Serious bodily injury is classified as an injury that creates a substantial risk of permanent damage, impairment of any body part, or risk of death. 

Texas classifies aggravated assault as a second-degree felony, and it carries a punishment of up to 20 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. If a deadly weapon is used in the assault or involves family violence, domestic violence, or violence against a public official, it becomes a first-degree felony. First degree felonies come with a sentence of 5 to 99 years in state prison as well as a fine of up to $10,000. Additionally, being convicted of aggravated assault will affect your personal life, employment, and the ability to hold personal or professional licensure, including the ability to own a firearm.

Finding the Right Houston Criminal Lawyer for Assault Charges 

The first thing you should do if you’ve been arrested with an assault crime is to contact an attorney. Even though it may be a while until you appear in court, there is plenty to do in the meantime. An attorney can look into your case and advise you on things you can do now that may help your situation once it’s time to appear in front of a judge. 

It might feel overwhelming when it comes to choosing an attorney because there are so many to choose from, all of whom want to work with you. There are a few things to consider that can help you pick an attorney that is a good fit for you and your situation.  

Book a consultation

The majority of a criminal defense lawyer will offer a free consultation to meet with you and learn more about your case. It’s smart to meet with a potential attorney in person to see if you get along, and ask specific questions about your case. It’s important that you work with an attorney you can trust, and that understands you since you will be working closely together to determine your future. 

Ask questions

When meeting with a potential attorney, make sure you bring all of your documentation, and information about your charge, as well as questions you have about the legal process moving forward. There’s no such thing as a stupid question when dealing with the legal system. So don’t be afraid to ask the attorney anything you want to know. They will do their best to answer your questions honestly and objectively to give you a realistic vision of what to expect. 

Local knowledge

Since every state’s laws are different, make sure that the attorney you’re consulting with has experience in the area you’ve been charged. Having local knowledge also means they will know the people involved in the legal system in that area, and they will be able to inform you about the specific processes in your region. Local attorneys may also have contacts that could help make the process go more smoothly. 

Areas of expertise 

In addition to having local knowledge, the attorney you choose should also have experience handling assault cases like yours. Even if they have decades of law experience, they should have experience handling the specific types of crimes you have been charged with. Don’t be afraid to ask about their experience with cases like yours and what outcomes you can expect based on previous cases they have handled. 

These tips are intended to give you some clarity on what to look for in an attorney, but should not replace real legal advice. The only way to know if an attorney is the right choice for you is to meet them, ask the right questions, and determine for yourself if it is a good fit. 

If you’ve been charged with an assault crime in Houston, Christopher T. Gore is an experienced Houston criminal defense attorney that wants to help. Contact our office or learn more about how he can help defend your case.

Posted on

The Penalties for Domestic Violence Charges in Texas

Domestic Violence Defined in Texas

Texas does not take domestic violence charges lightly. The consequences of being convicted of a domestic violence assault are severe and can follow you for the rest of your life. It’s essential to understand what is considered domestic violence, and the potential penalties someone convicted of domestic violence will likely face.

Domestic Violence, Defined

Domestic violence is defined as an intentional and reckless assault against a family member or a household member. This includes someone you currently or previously dated or someone you live with, including a nanny or roommate.

 

Texas Laws on Domestic Violence

Domestic violence is defined in a few different ways in Texas. Violence against a spouse, former spouse, child, or child of a former spouse falls under domestic assault as does an attack against anyone who permanently or temporary receives in your household.

Also, under the umbrella under domestic violence is assaults against a foster child, foster parent, blood relative, adoptive child, or another family member either by blood or marriage. In some situations, kidnapping, confinement, or criminal threats can also be considered domestic violence if they occur in the home. Violent behavior such as hitting, punching, kicking, spousal rape, or attacking a child can be regarded as domestic assault as well.

 

How does Texas handle domestic violence crimes?

Texas has harsh penalties for domestic violence convictions. If you’re being accused of domestic assault, it is not something to take lightly. Beyond hefty fines and jail time, a domestic violence conviction can have a series impact on your family, relationship, and personal life. You may also lose the right to own a gun, and may face difficulty finding employment.

Here is a breakdown of the penalties for domestic violence in Texas.

  • A Class A misdemeanor can lead to up to one year in jail and/or a fine up to $4,000.
  • A 3rd-degree felony charge for domestic violence can result in 2 – 10 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000
  • A 2nd-degree felony charge for domestic violence can result in 2 – 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000, and
  • A 1st-degree felony charge for domestic violence can result in a sentence of 5 – 99 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.

In Texas, even if the accuser drops the charges against you, it is still up to the district attorney to decide whether or not conflict with you. You may still have to go to trial and proceed with the case if the DA pursues the case against you.

As we mentioned, a domestic violence conviction can be an extreme disruption to your day to day life and can affect your job, family life, and personal relationships. If you have custody of children, a conviction could jeopardize your access to your children.

If you’re facing domestic violence charges in Texas, it’s crucial to hire a qualified attorney to defend you. Advice on the internet is not enough when you could potentially be facing felony charges that will affect the rest of your life.

Christopher T. Gore is a qualified criminal defense attorney who can help you move forward and find the best course of action for your defense. Call today for help with your specific case.

Posted on

Aggravated Assault in Texas

Deadly Weapons in Texas

Texas defines aggravated assault as intentionally or recklessly causing serious bodily harm to another person. This includes using a deadly weapon while committing an assault crime, threatening another person with bodily injury, or acting in a way that the victim would likely find offensive.

What is Considered a Deadly Weapon in Texas?

Aggravated assaults can involve deadly weapons, which different states classify in their own ways. Texas identities a deadly weapon as a firearm or tool made to inflict serious bodily injury or death. Anything used or intended to be used to cause serious bodily injury or death is also considered a deadly weapon.

The weapon doesn’t have to be used for the crime to be classified as an aggravated assault. Pointing a weapon at another person or harming someone with a non-firearm weapon such as a knife or blunt object while engaging in dangerous conduct.

Other items that Texas classifies as deadly weapons include:

  • Explosive weapons
  • Firearms
  • Clubs
  • Knives
  • Brass knuckles
  • Zip gums
  • Chemical dispenser

Degrees of Aggravated Assault

In Texas, aggravated assault is classified as a first or second-degree felony, depending on the circumstances of the crime.

The crime is considered a first-degree felony if the offender uses a deadly weapon to commit the assault and in the process causes bodily injury to a household or family member, partner, or a public servant.

Deadly misconduct is considered a class a misdemeanor or third-degree felony depending on how the assault was committed. If a weapon discharges, then the offense is considered a third-degree felony.

First degree felonies also apply to assaults where the offender knows the victim is a public service and knowingly assaults them, the victim is a witness to a crime, or the offender shoots from a motor vehicle at someone’s house.

Penalties for Aggravated Assault and Deadly Misconduct

Someone convicted of committing aggravated assault could face these penalties in Texas:

  • If found guilty of a first-degree felony, you could face 5-99 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
  • If found guilty of a second-degree felony, you could face 2-20 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.

Deadly misconduct charges in Texas come with the following penalties:

  • If found guilty of a Class A Misdemeanor, you could face up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000.
  • If found guilty of a third-degree felony, you could face 2-10 years in jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000.

If a person has any prior convictions, that could increase the penalties or prison times. Aggravated assault can also become a manslaughter charge if a victim dies because of injuries sustained during an assault.

While it’s essential to know the potential penalties for certain crimes, don’t rely on internet advice when it comes to legal advice for your case.

If you’re facing aggravated assault charges in Houston, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney to help you make your case. Contact Christopher T. Gore for help understanding your options and information about how he can help you achieve the best outcome possible.

Posted on

What is Aggravated Assault?

Assault with a weapon gun is aggravated assault

The attempt to cause serious physical harm to a person with disregard for their life is described as aggravated assault. Not to be confused with plain assault, an aggravated assault occurs when a weapon is used, the degree of injury caused is high, or there was aggressive intent from the perpetrator.

Different states classify aggravated assault in different ways. In Texas, a crime is considered aggravated assault if they perpetrator uses weapons, or it results in serious injury. If the assault is of someone who you are in a domestic partnership with, a public official, an emergency worker, or a witness or informant to a crime, it gets upgraded to a first-degree felony.

Degrees of Aggravated Assault

While the exact terms differ state by state, most states agree that first degree aggravated assault describes a violent act that is committed after premeditated planning. The act was an intentional attempt to cause serious injury to the person.

Second degree aggravated assault describes when a violent act is committed without any planning or premeditation. A lesser charge can be changed to a second degree aggravated assault charge if the victim has a protected status such as a police officer.

Third and fourth-degree aggravated assault is when the assailant attempts to significantly harm the victim, like in a fistfight or physical altercation. Even though these are classified as lesser offenses, they still carry severe penalties.

Some assaults may begin as simple assaults, but their status changes to aggravated assault based on the status of the victim to the intent of the perpetrator. Many states have strict laws against assaults on firefighters, police officers, or teachers who are harmed while performing their duty. Additionally, some hate crimes or crimes against members of certain groups of people can be considered aggravated assault if the assailant intended to target that particular group.

Penalties for Aggravated Assault

The penalties for assault charges differ depending on the assault and degree to which injuries occurred. Depending on the state where the assault happened, it could be treated as a misdemeanor or a felony based on the circumstances.

In Texas, many aggravated assaults are classified as first-degree felonies. If you’re found guilty of committing a first-degree felony in Texas, you could face a life sentence in prison plus a fine as determined by the judge, which could be up to $10,000. Some less severe assaults that may fall under misdemeanor classification can result in fines of $500-$1000 as well as a prison sentence.

The penalties for aggravated can differ significantly based on your state, the circumstances of the crime, and the victim. It’s tempting to want to research online what might happen with your case. Don’t rely on information from the internet to understand the complexities of your case.

If you’ve been arrested for aggravated assault in Houston, contact Christopher T. Gore. Find out how he and his qualified team can help answer your questions and represent your best interests after an assault charge.

Posted on

What You Need To Know About Assault and Battery Laws in Texas

Bar Fights can lead to Aggravated Assault and Battery in Texas

In Texas, assault and battery charges are treated the same under the law. This might seem confusing since other states view them as two separate crimes. However, in Texas, they are treated the same way because the two offenses are very similar, and both result in bodily injury.

Here is a breakdown of how Texas handles assault and battery cases, which are collectively referred to as “assault.”

Assault Definitions, Classifications, and Penalties

A person can be charged with assault if they knowingly and recklessly cause bodily injury to another person, threatens harm, or causes physical contact that they know is unwelcome or offensive.

There are six classifications of assault that each come with their own penalties.

Class C misdemeanors occur when a person threatens someone with, or causes, physical contact with a person in an offensive way. In a Class 3 misdemeanor, there can be no other aggravating factors involved. The penalty for a Class C misdemeanor is a fine of up to $500.

A Class B misdemeanor is when a person commits an assault against someone during a sporting event, while participating in the game, as a retaliation. If found guilty of a Class B misdemeanor, you could face up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $2000.

Class A misdemeanors describe when someone causes bodily injury to another, and no other factors are present. This is also the Classification for causing harm to an elderly person. The penalty for a Class A misdemeanor is up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000.

A third-degree felony is when someone knowingly assaults a public servant in which they are on official duty, a family member or household member, government employee, or emergency personnel. If found guilty of a third-degree felony, you could face up to 10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

A second-degree felony involves assault committed against a family member, spouse, or partner. It can also pertain to a defendant who has been previously convicted of a similar offense. A second-degree felony conviction comes with 2-20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

The most severe felony is a first-degree felony, which can also be known as an aggravated assault. A crime is considered aggravated assault if there are weapons used in the assault and/or it results in serious injury. A crime is considered a first-degree felony if it is considered aggravated assault of someone who you are in a domestic partnership with, a public official, an emergency worker, or a witness or informant to a crime.

If you’re found guilty of a first-degree felony, you face a potential life sentence in prison plus a fine as determined by the judge.

The best way to fully understand the details of your conviction is to talk to a qualified lawyer who can answer specific questions about your case.

If you’ve been convicted of assault in Houston, call the offices of Christopher T. Gore for more information on how he can help.

Posted on

What You Need To Know About Bail Reform in Harris County

Bail Bond Hearing Courtroom in Houston Harris County

For the past few years, Harris County has been working on a proposed agreement to fix its bail system. The Harris County Bail system was declared unconstitutional in 2016 after several plaintiffs filed lawsuits against the county for being jailed for low-level offenses. Hey called the judicial practices unconstitutional and protested ordering for the release of misdemeanor defendants within jail within 24 hours of being arrested. An appellate court later ruled for bail hearings to take place within two days of the arrest to allow defendants to argue for lower bonds.

What’s the current state of bail reform in Harris County?

In July 2019, officials in Harris county votes to finally settle the bail lawsuit that had been ongoing for nearly two years. The changes in the reform system implement a change that calls for rapid release of defendants who were arrested for misdemeanor offenders, with the exception of domestic violence offenses, or people who have had multiple DUIs. The law also forced the county to look into ways to make the pretrial process more inclusive to everyone involved. They began initiating weekly designated hours for defendants to appear in front of a judge to reschedule appearances without the risk of returning to jail.

The county also implemented a risk-assessment system that determines the likelihood that a defendant will commit a similar crime if they are released from jail. There’s a lot of debate on the accuracy of these tools and whether or not the information they produce is reliable.

What does the Harris County case mean for the future of bail reform?

During the trial, evidence came out with incriminating findings that defendants were unfairly treated during their bail lawsuits. The Harris County decree includes language that reads like a warning for others who might continue to ignore the ordinates set by the reform.

During the case, evidence can out that paying high bail amounts doesn’t affect public safety or a defendant’s likelihood to show up for court appearances. In fact, they found that defendants were more likely to falsely plead guilty in order to be released from jail because they can’t afford the bail.

Criminal justice reform advocates say that the outcome of the case in Harris County could be a tipping point for many other counties across the country who want to see similar changes.

Some people do have their objections to the outcome. Harris County District Attorney Kim Ogg has publicly objected to the settlement because it doesn’t do enough to protect victim’s rights. She thinks the new system could put victims of abusers in danger by allowing offenders to continue committing crimes right after being jailed.

If you’ve been arrested for a crime in Houston, and are unsure about the circumstances around your bail, it’s time to contact an attorney who can help. Consulting a qualified and experienced attorney, instead of finding information online, can help you understand the unique details of your circumstances, and what it means for your case moving forward.

Posted on

No Refusal Weekends in Texas: What They Mean for Drivers

No Refusal Weekends in Texas

Every year as the holiday season approaches, Texas law enforcement makes it their top priority to protect motorists from drink drivers with the introduction of no refusal weekends. No refusal weekends happen in Houston and the surrounding areas as a way to discourage drunk driving by increasing police presence and the presence of sobriety checkpoints in the area.

‘No refusal’ laws in Texas

Texas’ no refusal laws mean that you legally cannot refuse to be rested when pulled over on suspicion of a DWI. In situations when no refusal applies, the drivers are required to comply with it. However, the officer wants to test them. Under no refusal, the officer does not need a warrant to conduct the test.

What are no refusal weekends?

During no refusal weekends, you are subject to implied consent every time you are pulled over on suspicion of a DWI. Implied consent requires drives to submit to chemical testing of their blood alcohol content to test for substances int heir system. Under this law, law enforcement gets to decide which chemical testing method to use. Police can ask you to do a breathalyzer or a blood test. If you are asked to do a blood test, you can choose to do it on your own within 2 hours at a certified testing facility.

Under the implied consent laws, officers can only force you to submit to chemical drug testing if you have two DWI convictions, are in an accident resulting in injury or death, have a prior conviction with a child in the car, or have been convicted of intoxication assault.

Refusing to submit for a chemical test can result in some of the same punishments you would get for the DWI itself. You may have to pay substantial fines, lose your license or face possible jail time if you refuse, or if you are found to be driving under the influence. According to Texas state law, you don’t have the right to contact an attorney before being tested during non-refusal weekends.

Preparing for no refusal holidays

The weeks before a no-refusal weekend, the local counties will begin advertising no refusal dates on TV, radio, and social media. The intention is to dissuade as many people as possible from driving under the influence, especially during times when there is a high likelihood of drinking and driving.

In Texas, there are a handful of specific no refusal weekends that recur every year, including:

  • Memorial Day
  • Fourth of July
  • Labor Day weekend
  • Halloween
  • Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Eve/Christmas Day
  • New Years Eve/New Years Day

During the holiday season, between October and January, there may also be no refusal enforced at random throughout that time. There are also other events, including major sporting events or community events that may call for no refusal to be implemented.

If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence on a no refusal day, the first thing you should do after the arrest is to contact an attorney for help. Don’t rely on information relayed by the officers or on the internet when dealing with a difficult situation like a DWI. Even though you cannot refuse the chemical test, an attorney will know what to do to make sure your rights are protected and that your best interests are represented.

Contact Christopher T. Gore to find out how he can help you navigate the charges of a DWI and move forward with your life.

Posted on

What You Need To Know About Posting Bond in Houston or Harris County

Surety Bond Bail Bond Harris County Houston

In Harris County or Houston City, there are pretty standard processes for being released from jail after an arrest. Depending on the circumstances, here is what you need to know about posting bond after an arrest in Houston or Harris County. 

After an arrest, you will be processed and booked at the local jail facility, where you will also learn how much bail you must pay to be released. There is usually a schedule that lists out all of the costs that are associated with misdemeanor crimes and certain felonies. If you’re charged with higher-level offenses, then you might not find out your bail amount until after you’ve had a bond hearing in front of a judge. 

If you find out how much you owe, and can pay the full amount, you will arrange with the officers to make a payment. If you cannot afford the amount in cash, then you may contact a relative or co-signer to vouch for your ability to pay in the future. If you require a co-signed to help make bond, then they need to understand the stakes of co-signing for you. Co-signers will be required to present financial information and proof of collateral or resources to pay the money owed. 

When it comes to how you can post bond and gain release from jail, most defendants have three different options. 

A surety bond is primarily used when the defendant isn’t able to afford to pay their bond in cash. In this case, they will use their resources to pay for their legal representation and form a surety bond between the court and a bail bond company. If the bail bond company agrees to pay the entire amount of the bond, then they will do so in exchange for 10% of the bond amount upfront. If the defendant fails to show up to any court hearing, then the bond is forfeited, and the defendant will be required to pay the entire amount of the bond immediately. 

A personal recognizance bond is when a judge permits the defendant to be released from jail without paying any money. These bonds are usually the work of experienced criminal defense attorneys that can make a very good case for release for the defendant. Personal recognizance bonds are only ever considered during misdemeanor cases that do not include any drugs or violence. 

Cash bonds can be used in two situations. The first is when the defendant has money to pay the entire bond upfront or can borrow it from a friend or family. The second time the judge may require a cash bond is if the defendant is considered a flight risk, or has failed to pay any court fees or fines associated with other cases. With cash bonds, the court will hold the money as long as the case is active. The defendant will get their money back if they show up for all hearings, despite as to whether or not they’re found guilty. 

Depending on the jail, this process may be a bit different from place to place. However, if you are arrested in Houston or Harris country, you can count on your bond posting process to resemble what we’ve just outlined. 

Before you make any impactful decisions regarding your bond, be sure to consult a qualified attorney or speak to legal representation to get a full overview of your options. 

If you’re facing misdemeanor or felony charges in the Houston or Harris Country area, contact the office of Christopher T. Gore to find out how he can help represent your case. 

Posted on

A Breakdown of the Texas Justice System

Texas Justice System

The Texas justice system has streamlined processes and produces that are followed following every arrest leading up to the trial. If you’ve been arrested, your situation will be unique to the charges you face; however, there are some standard procedures that you can expect to occur after you’ve been arrested in Texas.

The arrest

During the arrest itself, the officer is required to read your Miranda rights, which include that you have the right to remain silent and that anything you say can be used against you in a court of law. They will also inform you of your right to have an attorney, and that if you cannot afford one, one will be appointed to you.

Facing the judge

After the arrest, the law requires you to be seen by a judge within at least 48 hours. The judge will explain what you are facing and what the charges meanwhile making sure that you understand your rights. After appearing before the judge, you will be given a reasonable amount of time to consult with an attorney and set up a bond.

The bail/bond hearing

Once you’ve consulted with a lawyer, they will request a bond hearing. The bond hearing is when the judge decides upon the conditions you must follow to make sure that you return to court for your hearing. If you are being held in jail, they will determine a bail amount that you can pay to be released until your trial. The amount set for your bail is determined on a case by case basis. Your attorney can help negotiate a reasonable bail amount depending on the circumstances of your case.

Filing the charges

After bail is set, then the prosecutor will file charges via a complaint, information, or an indictment, depending on the case. A complaint is used for Class C misdemeanors, an information request is used for Class A and B misdemeanors, and an indictment is used for felonies. Indictments are almost always presented to grand juries of 12 people who will vote to determine if the defendant is guilty.

The Arraignment

After charges are filed, you are expected to appear in court and hear your charges read in open court. You will be given a copy of the complaint and have the option to enter a plea or to request a continuance. If you either the defense or the prosecution need to investigate further or explore additional evidence, then a continuance will be granted. If you and your attorney come to an agreement with the prosecution about a plea bargain, then you will present this to judge and announce how you will plead. The judge has the right to accept or reject a plea agreement.

The Trial

There are two parts to trials that take place in Texas. The guilt/innocence phase is where the state will try and prove that the defendant is guilty by presenting their evidence and calling witnesses. The defense will also be able to cross-examine the witnesses and present their case in favor of the defendant.

After the guilt/innocence phase, the judge or jury will deliberate and announce their verdict to the court.

After the verdict is announced, if the defendant is found guilty, you move on to the punishment phase. During this phase, the judge will announce their recommendation for sentencing or set another date for a sentencing hearing.

While this is a pretty accurate depiction of the justice system’s process following an arrest, remember that each case is unique and may be treated differently. It’s highly recommended that you consult with an experienced attorney that can help you navigate the logistics of your case. If you’re looking for a criminal defense attorney you understand the circumstances of your case in Texas, contact Christopher T. Gore for more info on how he can represent you.

Posted on

What to Expect During a Standard Field Sobriety Test in Texas

Driving in Texas

You already know that drinking and driving is against the law and a perilous mistake to make. But let’s say for instance, that you are at a company happy hour after work after a few beers and make the decision to drive home afterward. You begin driving erratically, or maybe you just miss a stop sign and are pulled over by a police officer. Your mind may be swimming with uncertainty about what’s going to happen. There are a few specific things you can expect when you are pulled over and suspected of driving under the influence.

First, if the officer suspects that you are under the influence, they will ask if you have been drinking. It’s no use lying in this situation, because regardless of your answer, the officer may ask you to conduct a field sobriety test.

In Texas, there are a few different types of sobriety tests you may be asked to take part in; the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus, the one-legged stand, and the walk and turn.

The Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus

This test, also called the flashlight test, tests your eyes for jerk responses when exposed to a small flashlight or pen. The officer will ask you to use your gaze and follow the object in a straight line while watching your eyesight for jerking motions. They use their judgment to determine if your gaze seems erratic or unfocused. This is not the most accurate test to determine if you are under the influencer and is usually combined with one or both of the other tests.

The One-Legged Stand

If the officer asks you to do the one-legged-stand test, here’s what you can expect. You will be asked to stand on one foot, with the other foot six inches above the ground with your toes pointed and leg straight. The office will likely ask you to count out loud for up to 30 seconds. They may also ask you to raise your arms, hop or switch legs to see how well you respond to the instruction and whether you seem steady, or are showing more signs of intoxication.

The Walk and Run

During this field sobriety test, the officer will ask you to walk about ten steps in a straight line, heel to toe. Then you’ll have to turn on your feet and do it the other way. This test is deceptively simple, but the officers will be looking for indicators that you are intoxicated in how you respond to this test. Some signs they look for include if you can start on their instruction, you count your steps correctly, how well you understand the “heel-to-toe” concept, as well as your overall demeanor during the test.

If at any point, you are placed under arrest, do not resist the officer and remember to remain calm. The next step is to find an attorney who can help get you through your charges. Don’t rely on internet advice to navigate the legal system after a DUI arrest.

You need a qualified attorney who will listen and understand the specifics of your case. If you are facing a DUI or DWI charge in Houston, call Christopher T. Gore at (713) 223-1600. Learn more about how he can best represent your case and help you move forward.