Posted on

What is considered a Misdemeanor in Texas

Houston Texas Misdemeanor Legal System

In Texas, crimes are categorized based on the seriousness of the offense. How aggressively you are punished for a crime defends on how that crime is classified under Texas law. While misdemeanors may be considered “lesser” criminal acts under some systems, the punishment for these crimes depends on how it is classified. Misdemeanors can fall under one of three categories: Class A misdemeanor, a Class B misdemeanor, or a Class C misdemeanor. 

Depending on the crime and how it is classified, you may be facing severe fines, jail time, or a combination of the two. 

What is a Class A misdemeanor?

A Class A misdemeanor is the most serious of the three classifications. Penalties for crimes that fall under Class A include a mandatory jail sentence of up to one year, and you may be required to pay a fine of up to $4,000. 

Crimes that fall under Class A misdemeanors in Texas include: 

  • Assault with bodily injury
  • Perjury
  • Carrying a weapon unlawfully 
  • Second offense DWI (driving while intoxicated) 
  • Possession of 2-4 ounces of marijuana

What is a Class B misdemeanor?

Class B misdemeanors are less severe than Class A offenses but still, carry significant consequences. If found guilty of a Class B misdemeanor, you could face a mandatory sentence of 180 days in jail and pay up to $2,000 in fines. 

Common class B misdemeanors include:

  • Prostitution
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Possession of certain drugs 
  • First offense DWI
  • Indecent exposure 

What is a Class C misdemeanor?

Class C misdemeanors carry the least significant punishment, but the consequences can still bring long-term effects. With crimes that fall under class C, there aren’t specific overarching punishments for the entire classification. Each crime has an appropriate punishment, and the classification does not carry any mandatory jail time for offenses. However, under Texas law, you will be required to pay a fine of up to $500. 

Class C misdemeanors in Texas include:

  • Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol as a minor 
  • Petty theft 
  • DIsorderly conduct 
  • Possession of tobacco or alcohol as a minor
  • Simple assault 

What to do if you’re charged with a misdemeanor

Have you been charged with a misdemeanor offense in Houston? Having a misdemeanor on your record can make things more difficult for you in the future when it comes to finding a job and in other areas of your life. 

After the arrest, remember to stay calm and take the necessary steps to find an attorney who can help. Regardless of the crime, it’s vital to hire a trusted Houston Misdemeanor attorney to represent your case. The right attorney will understand the most up to date state laws and can provide advice that keeps your best interests in mind. 

Remember that the internet is not the right place to find legal advice specific to your case. Every case is different, and you need a personalized plan that will apply to your unique situation. If you are facing a misdemeanor offense in Houston, call  Christoper T. Gore. Learn more about how he can best represent your case and help you move forward.