Are you one of the 2.3 million people in Texas with a suspended license?
If so and you continue to drive, you’re putting yourself at risk of getting caught every time you’re on the road.
Or, maybe you don’t realize your license is suspended and you get pulled over. In that case, you’ll still be facing the consequences of driving with a suspended license.
So, what should you do if you’re caught driving with a suspended license here in Texas? You’ve come to the right place.
Keep reading to learn more about why your license can be suspended, what you should do if you’re caught driving, and how to get a suspended license reinstated.
The state of Texas must notify you if you’ve done something that causes you to receive a license suspension.
You’ll receive a letter in the mail from the Texas Department of Public Safety which will outline why your license status is being changed. However, keep in mind that even if you don’t receive the letter, you still have a suspended license and cannot legally drive.
This is why it’s important to make sure that you update your address on the Texas Department of Public Safety’s website when you move, so your current address is always on file.
If you think you may have a suspended license but you haven’t received an official notice from the state, you can check your driving eligibility online at any time.
Even though it may seem like it, when the state suspends your license, it’s not to make your life inconvenient. It’s done to help keep the roads safe and discourage people from breaking traffic laws.
There are a number of reasons your license might get suspended in the state of Texas, including the following.
This is by no means an exhaustive list, but these are some of the most common reasons for a license suspension. In some cases, you can request a court hearing to appeal the suspension.
There is no set standard for the length of time of your license suspension. Instead, there are several factors that affect how long you lose your driving privileges.
A hearing officer will determine the length. It is often based on the number of previous offenses you’ve had, your age, and what you did to cause the suspension.
For example, if you receive a suspension because of traffic tickets, your suspension will most likely be shorter than if you’re convicted of a DWI.
In some cases, your license may be suspended for as long as two years, or you may even receive an indefinite suspension.
In Texas, driving while your license is suspended is considered a misdemeanor. The circumstances dictate whether you’ll receive a charge of Class A, Class B, or Class C misdemeanor.
The first time you’re caught driving with a suspended license, you’ll receive a Class C misdemeanor charge and get a fine of up to $500.
If you’re caught a second time or your initial suspension was because of a DWI, you’ll get a Class B misdemeanor charge. That can result in a fine of up to $2,000 and/or jail time of up to 180 days.
If you cause a serious accident while driving with a suspended license, you’ll receive a Class C misdemeanor, and get a fine of up to $4,000. You may also receive jail time of up to 365 days.
You could also get an extended suspension period in any of these circumstances.
If you know you are driving while you’re on a suspended license and you see the flashing blue lights behind you, you may consider trying to flee. However, that will only make things much worse.
Instead, just pull over. The officer will then pull up your information and inform you that you have a suspended license and should not be driving.
However, remember that you still have rights. And, you don’t have to go through this process alone.
Once you’ve been caught, contact a lawyer like Christopher T. Gore that specializes in driving on a suspended license.
Our team can review your case and help you determine the best course of action to get your license reinstated.
If you’ve been caught driving while your license is suspended, you’ll end up having a court hearing.
Although it’s not required to have a lawyer represent you at your hearing, you’ll have a better chance of getting the suspension reversed or the length of it reduced with an expert on your side.
Once your suspension is up, you’ll then need to apply for reinstatement with the state of Texas. A lawyer can help you with the paperwork to ensure that you’ve done everything you need to do to get your license back.
If your reinstatement request is denied, a lawyer can also help you navigate the often confusing appeal process.
If you’ve been caught driving with a suspended license, we understand it’s an overwhelming time. You don’t have to go through it alone.
Our team specializes in these types of cases and we’ll be here for you every step of the way. Schedule a consultation with us today so we can learn more about your case and discuss how we can help.